Deprovisioning is the process of removing the device from signageOS. Usually, it is used when the device in service is broken or moved to a different customer.
Deprovisioning is done over API or within the Box. Once you perform the de-provision action, a few things happen:
- All Applet/Timings are removed
- All files from internal device memory are removed
- The device name is removed
- All device settings are removed
- The device is removed from the Organization
The final state of the device after the deprovisioning is the same as when you installed the signageOS app on the device for the first time. It has its verification hash shown again and is ready to be re-used.
Deprovisioning via REST API
Follow the REST API documentation about the deprovisioning endpoint.
Deprovisioning via Box
- Login to the Box
- Find the device you want to deprovision
- Remove all device Timings on the device detail page (Content Tab)
- Get back to the Info tab and find
Deprovisionbutton under Network setting info tab
- If your device will still have timings, you will be alerted in the modal box
- Once the timings are deleted, fill in
Device nameand your password to Box
- Deprovisioning process will be initiated
- Deprovisioning is done once you see the verification hash on the device
- We recommend to Factory Reset the device
Once the deprovisioning process is triggered, the signageOS application and the device itself are performing a lot of operations in order to clear and clean up the device. The deprovisioning process may take up to 5 minutes depending on the storage quota used by the device.
Please note: In Android devices after deprovisioning it is required to connect the device to the WiFi network again, as the process deletes the credentials.